Two Gentleman of Verona

“I leave myself, my friends, and all, for love.”

(photo credit – CSC design)

I GOT TO SEE TWO GENTLEMEN OF VERONA LAST NIGHT (for FREE)!!!

Considered one of Shakespeare’s weakest plays, Cincinnati Shakespeare Company (CSC) took on Two Gents and proved that the play is indeed an amazing work of art. This play basically showcases all of Shakespeare’s clever devices such as women disguising themselves as men, letter mix-ups, love triangles, dirty thieves becoming good, and comedic relief from servants misunderstandings. Because of this – in addition to it’s placement in Shakespeare’s cannon – many people believe it to be one of his first plays.
In any case, the performance from CSC’s company once again blew me away. Everything from choosing to set it in the 70s to the spot-on comedic timing of the actors had me rolling in my seat! It really got me thinking about my own skills in interpreting Shakespeare. The actors spoke with such precision, they knew what every word meant and how important it was to telling the story. It was amazing. I really hope that one day I am at their professional level.

I am so lucky to have this internship! I had my first day today and I will write about that in a separate post!

Until next time, Be Great! 🙂

